Selected Pete

And the Gods of the Copybook Headings limped up to explain it once more.

An Unexpected Glimpse at President Carter

leave a comment »

This is a fascinating little article on Jimmy Carter, and my guess is that it will be quietly buried by MSM, though I hope not. It is a revealing look at the growing divide between what the Democratic party was 20 years ago, and what it is today. I would love to be a bug on the wall of Howard Dean’s office when his handlers try to figure out how to handle this.

“These things impact other issues on which [Mr. Bush] and I basically agree,” the Georgia Democrat said. “I’ve never been convinced, if you let me inject my Christianity into it, that Jesus Christ would approve abortion.”

He also goes on to talk about what is mainstream in America vs the all-trumping Roe v Wade litmus test for the current Democrat leadership.

“I have always thought it was not in the mainstream of the American public to be extremely liberal on many issues,” Mr. Carter said. “I think our party’s leaders — some of them — are overemphasizing the abortion issue.”

Finally – another very candid remark about the perception of his presidency:

“I can’t deny I’m a better ex-president than I was a president,”

Jimmy’s got a long way to go before he’s in my court, but I think these are some honest, and difficult statements for someone like him to make, and I have to applaud him for doing so. The liberal fringe of the Democrats are dragging the party along very unwillingly as of late, and they are simply biding time for the “old guard” to either give up, or die off.

Long live the moderates.

Written by selectedpete

November 4, 2005 at 10:04 am

Posted in selectedpete

Leave a Reply

