Selected Pete

And the Gods of the Copybook Headings limped up to explain it once more.

Who’s Your Boss?

leave a comment »

My pastor reminded me of an important part of the whole basis for this blog activity (at least, for my blog activity). The main theme of his message this last week was a simple one: “Who’s your boss?”

As a consultant, I have had a lot of bosses over the years. All of them have come as part of the consulting package. I could reject them if I wanted, but then I would have to reject the whole consulting package. A few years ago though, I found a boss that was sort of ..optional. He had wanted to work with me, and had originally offered for me to come and work on his projects, but I put him off and went to work for his competitor. After all, the competitor had some very interesting technology and marketing going on.

I was happy at first, but several years later, I would come home after work and feel like I was just spinning my wheels. Worse than that, I had this feeling that my current boss was actually laughing at my misery behind my back…ever have that feeling?? Later on I realized that the project I was on was being mismanaged and was completely bankrupt. I woke up one morning realizing that I was wasting time and talent with my boss and his empty “void” of a project. I was too proud to go and ask the “optional boss” if he could help, so I sat around and fiddled and faddled for a while – but it just wasn’t working for me. I knew I was in a rut, but I was mired in pride.

As if he had seen my misery, I got a call from the “optional boss” one day asking me why I had not considered commiting to his project. I hemmed and hawed, and then finally admitted that I had no valid excuse, really. He stopped by immediately after that and we talked a long time about his vision and how he thought I could make a really big difference.

He explained that he had an optional management policy, and that he wanted very much to work with me, but that I could choose to work with him or not. I had never heard of this management philosophy, but I felt compelled to his work, and so I finally gave in and accepted his offer. Among the things I liked about this job was the fact that even if I screwed up and hurt the project, or even inadvertently helped the competitor, it would be ok as long as I came back and told my boss about it, and promised to do better next time.

Things really started changing..for the better…

I started feeling like I had a new purpose, and I messed up a few times, but when I got back up my boss was right there every time, encouraging me. What a difference a boss can make!

Today I am still proudly working for the “optional boss,” but I can’t imagine not having him as manager. Funding for his project looks extremely upbeat, and we are constantly spending time together, thinking of new ways to expand operations. Right now he and I are looking for new project managers and field service reps who will grow and mentor new divisions everywhere.

Let me know if you’d like to get in early on a sweet deal.

Written by selectedpete

October 18, 2004 at 8:19 pm

Posted in selectedpete

Leave a Reply

