Selected Pete

And the Gods of the Copybook Headings limped up to explain it once more.

Mary Cheney Is Inside Me, And She’s Talking To You!

leave a comment »

Hugh Hewitt may deem me to be utterly yell-ah and thin-skinned for walking away from my TV set during the VP debate, but I just couldn’t take Edwards any more. I swizzled the noodles around on my plate as he talked, and tried to get a tiny bit excited about eating dinner and watching a good debate…and…then it happened.

It just slithered out of Edwards’ coat pocket onto the table in front of one buhzillion awe-struck viewers. My mind immediately saw Edwards pleading:

“Mary Cheney speaks to you through me and I have to tell you right now — I didn’t plan to talk about this — right now I feel her. I feel her presence. She’s inside me, and she’s talking to you.”

I make it a habit of listening to folks like Edwards and even Mr Moore from time to time. It helps me to know the mind of the other side and keeps me sharp when talking to my liberal friends. As the Mary Cheney “thing” lay there gasping on the debate table, Cheney flicked it aside by simply thanking Edwards and heaping a few hot coals on his head. I thought it was brilliant thinking by Cheney…and I thought it was the last of his daughter Mary.

Fast-forward to the last debate – – Oh boy was I a stinking idiot! I should have known that someone like John Kerry could not help but step smack into the same cow paddy as his lil’ buddy! Now I happen to think that both John Kerry and John Edwards are pretty smooth-tongued wizards, but when Kerry invoked the Mary Cheney thing ..again, well I just had to start laughing. Kerry, just like Edwards was left looking like an absolute buffoon.

The fallout was even better. The best line I heard from the left that whole night was “well, it certainly was not Kerry at his best moment,…but ” and then they had nothing of substance to say after that (and that came from Ron Reagan Jr). I think chasm better describes the void that Kerry has fallen into after this latest true glimpse into his real character. Can you imagine what the alphabet networks would be saying if Edwards was the one with a gay child and Cheney would have used the same exchange? Carville’s head would have landed in Il Jong’s lap the following day after blowing clean off of his neck. Al Franken would be found a week later wandering naked, blind and speachless on Manhattan Beach….eewe!

Come on John(s): Even Sharpton wouldn’t be that thick!

Written by selectedpete

October 15, 2004 at 9:57 pm

Posted in selectedpete

Leave a Reply

