Selected Pete

And the Gods of the Copybook Headings limped up to explain it once more.

Ready, Set, Go!!!

leave a comment »

Ok Guys – Fire Away!

Well, now that the Gipper is laid to rest, Rather, Brokaw and Jennings can get back into character assassination mode and really mix things up. Kerry can get back to campaigning, and Ted Kennedy can roll up his sleeves and do a little obstructing – Great to be back in action, eh boys??

I have been doing a bit of reflecting on the politics and times of Reagan, and I mentioned before that there are some things to be critical of in his presidency, just as there are some things to be critical of today with Bush. I always have to go to the bigger picture, though, and when I do that, and I line up all of the things that came together in the end for each president, I am grateful that these two men were in the office during their respective times. I wonder what it would have been like if others had taken up the same tasks during the same times, and there are few who would have matched or surpassed. The alternatives (People like Carter, Mondale and Kerry) literally make me shudder, because I know those people were just not up to the job.

An interesting article I saw today talks about the big picture and Reagan quite well. I think that articles like this point out that any leader is going to have his spills and thrills, but it is really the worldview that sums up all the parts.

The reason I will vote for GW in November is not because he advocates for me to be able to carry a semi-automatic rifle with greater than 15 bullets in the magazine. I won’t vote for him because we went to Iraq. I also will not vote for him because he did or did not go to Vietnam. Those minutiae pale in comparison to the bigger picture. The bigger picture is simply that Kerry and the Democratic party reflect the concept of a Secular Human-inspired America. George Bush’s policies reflect the concept of a Godly America.
–Simply no contest.

Written by selectedpete

June 13, 2004 at 7:20 am

Posted in media, msm, reagan, selectedpete

Leave a Reply

